Lockney to hold city council, school board elections



FLOYD COUNTY—Although Friday, Feb. 12, was the last day to file for area city councils, due to the recent winter weather emergency not all reports were available to the Hesperian-Beacon by deadline time last week.

An election will be held to determine which candidates will serve on the Lockney City Council in Districts 1 and 3. Incumbent Donnie McLaughlin has filed for reelection to District 1, along with challenger Saul Rodriguez. For district 2, incumbent Aaron Wilson will serve another term. However, District 3 has two candidates. Alberto Soto-Gonzalez is running against incumbent Dart Carthel.  

Kayla Sherman initially filed for the Lockney ISD School Board Precinct 2 seat currently held by Mike Lass on February 1 but withdrew after Lass filed on February 10. Sherman has now refiled for Precinct 1, running against incumbent Tyler Duniven, who filed on February 9. 

Voters will determine which candidates fill these positions on Saturday, May 1, 2021.

When filing closed Friday, February 12. for elected incumbents had filed for the Floydada City Council and Floydada Collegiate ISD Board and remained unopposed. Bobby Gilliland will continue to serve as the Mayor of Floydada, while incumbents Dana Crossland and Steve Lloyd will serve districts 2 and 3 for another term.

Roger Hughes and Brianne Glasscock will serve another term on the FCISD School board.

Leave a Comment