If you’re a current subscriber, log in below. If you would like to subscribe, please click the subscribe tab above.
Username and Password Help
Special to The Hesperian-Beacon—
LEVELLAND – South Plains College will offer the Texas License to Carry a Handgun class on Feb. 1 (Saturday) in Room 109C of the Law Enforcement Technology building on the Levelland campus.
The class will begin at 8 a.m. with breaks every hour as well as a one-hour lunch break. Space is limited.
The cost of the course is $75 for students getting their first license, and $25 for students wanting a refresher course before renewing their license. This does not include the $40 fee for the Department of Public Safety (DPS) and Federal Bureau of Investigation fingerprint and background checks.
The classroom portion covers firearm safety, the use of force, non-violent conflict resolution, lawful concealed or open carry, storage with children in the home, and contacts with law enforcement personnel. The class runs from four to six hours.
The range portion covers range safety rules and commands, and the shooting portion of the class at distances ranging from three to 15 yards, using the indoor pistol range in the Law Enforcement building. Inexperienced shooters need to take basic pistol course before taking the LTC course. This course is strictly for qualifying the shooter to obtain an LTC. This is not a class to teach the student how to shoot. The number of students will determine how long the range portion requires.
Students will need to bring either a revolver or semiautomatic pistol, any caliber, and 50 rounds of ammunition to match. Eye and hearing protection are provided for students who do not have their own.
The instructor is Mark Wittie, instructor of law enforcement/criminal justice at South Plains College and a commissioned Texas Peace Officer. Wittie is a certified law enforcement firearms instructor through the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement and DPS certified to teach the LTC classes. He is also a member of the National Law Enforcement Firearms Instructors Association. He has been an instructor on various firearms platforms as well as other law enforcement force options for more than 20 years.
Although renewals now are handled strictly online, the changes in Texas firearms law since 2015 make a refresher course a good investment. Students need to register and pay in advance.
To sign up, https://secure.touchnet.net/C20027_ustores/web/store_main.jsp?STOREID=1&SINGLE STORE=true or contact Kasey Reyes, administrative assistant to the director of Continuing Education and Workforce Development, at (806) 716-2341 or email [email protected]